Wk 2 – Activity – Painting

IMG_20150201_164849_924Today, I spray painted for the first time. I didn’t feel like driving all the way to Venice, so I grabbed a pizza box from a few days ago (the cheese stuck on the box was already moldy. Gross!). I spread it out in my backyard and tried to decide how I should paint my name. I figured the circle of paint the spray would leave would be big in diameter, and my full name, Zachary, would not fit without looking messy. So I opted to paint “Zac” instead.

I was surprised to find out that it fit pretty well. I could have fit at most two more letters in the box. It turned out to be kind of sloppy, though, since I forgot to give the can a good shake. The black paint came out super thin and glossy. I managed to cover up some mistakes with the brown spray paint. I left the “a” as it was, because I kind of like how it turned out. It almost looks like an eye.

Overall, it turned out to be pretty fun, especially since I was outdoors. I’m accustomed to more traditional painting (with watercolors), but no doubt spray paint can also be used to make some pretty cool paintings. Now I’m thinking that when I paint again, I might use these spray cans.

Leave a Reply

