Wk 3 – Artist Interview – Ian

IMG_20150205_114252_421

I met Ian when our Art 110 class went to the galleries for the second time (I didn’t get to ask him for his last name). I automatically went to the Marilyn Werby gallery. That gallery always seems to display the kind of art that appeals to me.

Ian has been drawing and painting since he was 5 years old. I was pretty impressed at first, but he didn’t say that he had been drawing professionally since he was 5 years old. His only works displayed was an oil painting and a pretty big charcoal drawing. I thought it was pencil. He also said the drawing had taken about 15 hours. I could never draw something for that long, even if you took breaks in between. I’m pretty relieved that I hadn’t taken drawing seriously when I was in an art studio. I mean, I still like to draw and paint, but only casually. I hope Ian really likes to draw.

The way the drawing was structured was pretty interesting. There were three parts to it. The middle of the drawing represents the earthly realm, the top represents a celestial realm, and the bottom represents an underworld. Ian said the drawing had some Native American influences. I really like the celestial realm part. I had a hard time figuring out what it was. Then Ian pointed out that it was a big eyeball with other eyeballs in it. It’s supposed to indicate self-reflection. The bottom of the drawing seemed kind of cliche, though. We’ve already seen dozens of other works saying that industrialism is the doom of all mankind. I feel like Ian could have gone a little deeper than he did here. I don’t think he took this drawing very seriously, though.

Leave a Reply

