Wk 4 – Activity – Mina Show

IMG_20150214_204442_008

For this week’s activity, I decided to play a song in public. I’ve performed in front of other people before, so I thought playing outside in a public place would push my comfort zone a little. I wanted to play outside a local Target, but my friend wanted me to play outside a Barnes ‘N Nobles in that vicinity (to get more attention I guess). I was a little nervous, but as soon as I sat down with my guitar, I felt totally comfortable. It must have been because it was night and there weren’t a whole lot of people around.

The song I played was “Raincoat” by Downhere. I forgot to breathe while I was singing, so I messed up a few times. I also sped up the tempo towards the end of the song. The point wasn’t to get it all perfect, though. The point was to push my comfort zone, I told my dissatisfied friend. He wanted me to do it again and get it right. I played another song that I knew really well.

The few people who passed by either ignored me or gave me signs of approval. One person driving by nodded at me, and another started clapping.

Overall, it was a pretty cool experience. I think I’ll do it again, maybe with another friend who plays an instrument.

Leave a Reply

